The Tamar Rowing Club welcomes you to one of Australia’s oldest and friendliest rowing clubs.
The club boasts approximately 100 members from the full range of ages and skill levels, and our philosophy is one of supporting personal development, offering a fun and structured environment for people who are interested in rowing for fun, fitness, or competitive representation.
Rowers are supported by our club coaches in conjunction with the Rowing Tasmania State Development Officer (SDO) and the Tasmanian Institute of Sport (TIS).
The following video gives an insight into what it is like rowing at the Tamar Rowing Club.
The club boasts an impressive fleet of boats, covering the full range from singles through doubles, fours and eights and covering both sculling and sweep oared options.
Our gymnasium is a fully equipped rowing specific area and includes such items as rowing ergometer's (with sliders), 45 degree leg press, Jones weight lifting apparatus, free weights, benches and fitballs.
Access to the river is by our own private pontoon featuring the latest Poralu design which allows easy access for launching and retrieving of boats in a wide range of tidal conditions. It also has the capability of being swung out of the way in times of flooding.
Our club also has a number of kayaking and surf ski members who train from our facility.
We have in house projection for review of training videos and DVD and regularly run coaches training courses in conjunction with the State Development Officer and Rowing Tasmania.
Established on 12th October 1876 after a meeting between the Tamar Boating Club (est. 1870) and the Cataract Rowing Club (est. 1874) , The Tamar Rowing Club has continued to operate continuously since that time.
The first building was constructed on a site next to the Gorge Bridge in Launceston, Tasmania,
In 1973, the club was moved to its current position which is slightly north of the original site.
Key dates in the history of the club are as follows: